top of page
O'Neill Founder George C. White



2022 Honorary Committee included: Congressman Joe Courtney, Michael Douglas & Catherine Zeta-Jones, David Henry Hwang, Michael R. Jackson, Judith Light, John Logan, Senator Chris Murphy, Robert O’Hara, Maryann Plunkett & Jay O. Sanders, John Patrick Shanley, Jeanine Tesori, Preston Whiteway, Constanza Romero Wilson, and George C. Wolfe.

About the Monte Cristo Award:

The O’Neill annually bestows its Monte Cristo Award on a prominent artist whose work has had an extraordinary impact on American theater, in memory of its namesake. The gala event supports the Center’s commitment to developing new work and new artists for the stage.


Interested in joining Michael Douglas and making a matching gift to the O’Neill today?

Please click HERE, or contact Rob Mooney, Director of External Relations, at or (860) 443-5378 ext. 213 or visit

The O’Neill Monte Cristo Award gala took place on April 11, 2022 at New York City’s Gotham Hall, honoring O’Neill founder George C. White.

Perhaps the biggest news from the evening is that longtime O’Neill trustee and two-time Oscar winner Michael Douglas announced that he is committing $1 million in operating support to the O’Neill in honor of George and his wife Besty “so that it can go to work supporting this wonderful place. I also hope that this gesture will inspire others to join me in making their own matching gifts and to support the people who do this work every day.” 

Baby Gene PURPLE_edited.png
Lin-Manuel Miranda and Alex Lacamoire
Edison Ballroom
Monte Cristo Award
Tom Kitt Interview ('17)
One Last Time performance ('18)
Michael Douglas ('18)
Table Centerpiece
Karen Olivo (2018)
Meryl Streep ('14)
Adrienne Warren
Judith Light ('17)
Jake Shears
bottom of page